HEART MEANS EVERYTHING

Today STAND did a “Die In” Protest at the Belk Tower from 11-4. I was amazed at the number of assholes that we go to school with. I specifically remember one guy walking by saying “They must have known I was coming by cause there’s already chickDIE-IN Protest 10/28/09 UNCCs laying down for me.” I just can’t wrap my mind around how anyone who supposedly has a heart could be so cold. How they could be so cold and look only inward. I’m tired of talking to selfish people; people that only care how much money they make. I don’t, and I never will, care more about a dollar or two than the life of a person. So if you’re a selfish person I recommend that you go ahead and delete my off your friends list, because I no longer want to be friends with any assholes. There are too many problems in our world; we need to band together and stop these atrocities.

Tonight at the STAND meeting I heard one of the most emotional and passionate presentations that I have ever been privy to. I head a Sri Lankan woman bear her soul in order to tell us her story and beg for our help for her people, the Timal. To be honest it really affected me in a way in which nothing ever has. I’m not going to go into what is going on there but if you are curious, here’s a link: http://www.notosrilanka.com/about-us/background/history

I for one am no longer going to sit down. I’m going to STAND up for what I know is right. I’m going to fight for the oppressed and the needy. And, I am going to bring the evil to their knees. They will know that there are things which everyone of every religion can embrace. In closing I leave you with two quotes.

1028091314

.brenden.stephanie.maggie.jake.

“this is our triumph over all the forms of filth you’ve spread
well never let this go
right from the very start i knew this day would come
tonights the night we silence you
there’s nowhere left to run”
-Speak Of The Devil, A Day To Remember

“Do not kill, do not rape, to not steal. These are principles, which every man of every faith can embrace. These are not polite suggestions, these are codes of behavior and those of you that ignore them will pay the dearest cost.”
-Conner and Murphy McManus, The Boondock Saints

[MATT WILLIAMSON 10-28-09]

maggie wood–>matt I really love your passion against injustice, your amazing!! keep fighting and keep talking about what touches your heart. those people who constantly stand against you will bring that passion and fire to your heart. know that what we speak of and what we show people will influence them and one day you will look back and so many people will remember your courage and how you didn’t stand for cold hearted people. we all saw the world as a place that could be so much more and want equal rights for all people not just americans. were always here and were NOT giving up!!!

14743_163212849226_648619226_2886023_6212593_n

the price of indifference.

stephanie braun–>sometimes we have to thank those individuals who stand in our way because they make us THAT much more passionate and THAT much more fueled to make a difference. i struggle with this because whether it be something like human rights, recycling wutever, I feel I have to work 10times as hard to make up for all the people who are apathetic and dont do ANYTHING. yesterday after meeting Manju and hearing her story, I ran the fastest miles I have ran since high school because she filled me with empathy, anger, and passion. Though the world would be a better place without these individuals, they give us a sort of fucked up passion to fuel our energy and efforts.
samer hawayek–> Matthew,  Although I was not tagged, I had to comment to say thanks for sharing your thoughts candidly and vividly with the rest us. You are genuinely among those who take from the earth a nation, and embrace the brotherhood of man. A global citizen, if you will.
12542_651881961527_36605222_37744318_4895550_n

ignoring the issue doesnt make it go away

My reply to you is this: Embrace the uncarved block. Beauty is only beautiful when put next to what is ugly, and evil deeds are what give rise to the good. Their indifference, although a good indication of their ignorance and arrogance, only fuels those of us like yourself who then shout the truth louder than ten men ever will. Embrace this reality and march on.

 katie kocher–>follow the sun 

MATTHEW>it’s hard to wrap my mind around some of the things I heard today. first hand accounts of atrocities are much more powerful than just reading about them.

“And I am reminded, on this holy day, of the sad story of Kitty Genovese. As you all may remember, a long time ago, almost thirty years ago, this poor soul cried out for help time and time again, but no person answered her calls. Though many saw, no one so much as called the police… They all just watched as Kitty was being stabbed to death in broad daylight. They watched as her assailant walked away. Now, we must all fear evil men. But there is another kind of evil which we must fear most, and that is the indifference of good men.”
-Priest, Boondock Saints

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

